In the Grand Scheme of Things…

Think big picture. How are your actions today going to effect you in the long-term? If you eat that ice cream right before you go to bed it won’t kill you, but next time you get on the scale you will know why the number has either stayed the same or gone up. Even bigger picture, if you’re not constantly pushing yourself you are wasting time. I am definitely the culprit of this. I will get caught up in a TV show and instead of being productive I will have gone through an entire season and wasted the day. The decisions you make today shape your future. It doesn’t matter how big or how small, there is always some sort of impact. I am fortunate to know at this age what I want to do with my life, but I know other people aren’t in that situation. I don’t think you need to know exactly what you want to do at this point, but at least know what you don’t want to do. If you try something new and realize it’s not what you want to do, that puts you one step closer to finding what is right for you. Honestly, your major doesn’t matter much as long as you know the general area of study you are interested in. What I struggle with most about college is that so far 75% of the classes I have taken do not actually pertain to what I want to do after I graduate. I want to work for a magazine, not a newspaper, but most of my classes are geared towards newspapers. Now here is what I have learned: the more you know the better off you are.  Having knowledge of newspapers sets me apart from all of the others who want to get into magazines but lack the knowledge of newspapers. Knowledge is power. The more time you waste being angry about where you are, the less time you have to do what you want. What I am saying is, suck it up. You may not be where you want to be, but complaining every day isn’t going to get you there any quicker. Before making a decision think about the long-term impact and if it is helping you reach your dream/goal/aspiration etc.

xolivia

Leave a Reply

